The Detroit Curling Club opens its facilities, on a fee basis, to non-member or member groups when there are no member activities planned. The rental of the club includes all equipment and instruction necessary for even the first-time curler. The Club operates between early November and late March or April. Rental time is limited since weekday evenings are reserved for member leagues and many weekends are dedicated to club activities.

There is a special School Program that is available to school and youth groups both during the week and during selected weekend hours. Click here to access information on the program.

The ice is available by "sheet" or playing lane. The club has four sheets, each of which can accommodate up to eight players (32 players fill the curling arena). One to four sheets can be rented for each time period. The game is played with two teams of four players on each sheet, but teams of three will work, as well. The rental time per event is two hours. 



Description of a typical Curling Event: Your event starts off with 20 to 30 minutes of training by an experienced club member. Some of this is in the warm room but most is on ice. The training section is followed by an actual game. Our club has a viewing glass for observing the on-ice activities from the warmth of the warm room.

Rates: We rent by the sheet and not by head count. A sheet can be rented for $240 per two-hour period ($280 on weekends) regardless of the number of curlers, up to eight per sheet. This includes instruction and equipment. If there are members of your party who do not intend to curl but will only watch from the warm room, they will not count as part of your eight maximum participants.

Deposit: Once you receive confirmation of your reservation request, a deposit of $50 per sheet will be required to hold your reservation and will be applied to your bill. If the event is canceled or changed within two weeks of the date, the deposit will be forfeited.  For each additional curler beyond the 8 maximum per sheet, you will be charged an extra $30/person ($35 for weekend rentals).

Payment: The deposit must be made by PayPal. The payment link will be emailed to you.  You do not need a PayPal account to pay through PayPal.  The final payment may also be made ahead of time by PayPal or on the day of the event at the club by charge card (MC, VISA, AMEX, Discover), check or cash. If final payment is made by charge, we will accept only one payment per event.

Use of the Warm Room: Included with your rental, your group has use of the warm room during your event plus a half hour before and a half hour after your curling event. If you desire a longer period before or after (for a meal, birthday cake, meeting etc) it must be arranged in advance (at time of booking). There is a $50/hour charge for use of the warm room. Please note that not all times are available as there may be club events going on before or after your event.

Age / Liability: 18 years or older (11 - 17 year olds are allowed with prior approval). Anyone going on the ice must sign a Release of Liability form onsite prior to entering the ice area. Renters under 18 years old must have the form signed by a parent or guardian.

Release of Liabilty Forms:  *new process this season*  Every person going on the ice is required to sign a Release of Liability form.  Adults (18 years or older) will sign the form when they arrive at the club.  If you have minors in your party, we will email a form directly to you for the parent/guardian to complete. 

What to wear: Loose fitting clothing, short jacket, hat, gloves, CLEAN tennis shoes (Please carry in the shoes you will be wearing on the ice). The arena temperature is usually around 40 degrees.

Food and Beverage: There is no food or beverage service provided by the club, but a group can bring in food from an outside vendor or have it delivered. NO ALCOHOL IS PERMITTED. (The Club's liquor license is limited to members only). This policy is strictly enforced.

Arrival times: Groups must arrive at least 30 minutes prior to ice time for preparation and off-ice instruction. 

Instructions for Booking Ice Time

  1. Review the above rental information.
  2. Review the available ice times from the table below.
  3. To make a rental request, complete our rental request form.  
  4. A confirmation email will be sent to your email address. That email will include instructions, additional information and a PayPal invoice for the deposit.

Questions?: For additional information send an e-mail to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Note: In the table, 0 indicates that no sheets are available, 1 indicates 1 sheet is available, etc. and xxxxx indicates no rentals are allowed at these times. Available rental times were last updated 3/19/2018 at 1:08 PM.
  Available Times / # of Sheets Available
Monday, March 19, 2018000xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Tuesday, March 20, 2018xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Wednesday, March 21, 2018430xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Thursday, March 22, 2018xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Friday, March 23, 2018300xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Saturday, March 24, 2018000000
Sunday, March 25, 201800xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Monday, March 26, 2018413xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Tuesday, March 27, 2018xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Wednesday, March 28, 2018341xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Thursday, March 29, 2018xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Friday, March 30, 2018100xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Saturday, March 31, 2018000000
Sunday, April 1, 201800xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Monday, April 2, 2018000xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Tuesday, April 3, 2018xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Wednesday, April 4, 2018401xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Thursday, April 5, 2018xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Friday, April 6, 2018424xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Saturday, April 7, 2018000000
Sunday, April 8, 201800xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Monday, April 9, 2018444xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Tuesday, April 10, 2018xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Wednesday, April 11, 2018442xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Thursday, April 12, 2018xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Friday, April 13, 2018000xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Saturday, April 14, 2018000000
Sunday, April 15, 20180000xxxxxxxxxx
Monday, April 16, 2018xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Tuesday, April 17, 2018xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Wednesday, April 18, 2018xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Thursday, April 19, 2018000000
Friday, April 20, 2018002000
Saturday, April 21, 2018000000
Sunday, April 22, 20180000xxxxxxxxxx
Monday, April 23, 2018xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Tuesday, April 24, 2018xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Wednesday, April 25, 2018000000
Thursday, April 26, 2018000030
Friday, April 27, 2018042000
Saturday, April 28, 2018000000

2018 Junior Nationals

dccjrnats logo


Sponsored By:

Fuse Technology Group

Brooms Up Curling Supplies

Howes Bayou

Member Login

Have a question?

Contact Us

Detroit Curling Club

1615 E. Lewiston, Ferndale, MI 48220

Email Us

Rental Information

About the Club ...

The Detroit Curling Club is a dedicated curling facility with four sheets of ice and a spacious lounge and viewing area. We're in Ferndale, Michigan, close to Downtown Detroit and centrally located between major freeways (I-75 and I-696). We are the only curling club in the Detroit metropolitan area and have an active membership who joins for one primary purpose - to enjoy the grand old game of curling!